Bunker Coffee – Milton


In Brisbane these days it is all about word of mouth when it comes to new cafes and all though I would like to think I am always on top of whats up and coming as far as new cafes in Brisbane this one slipped under my radar. Bunker Coffee is a tiny hole in the wall cafe situated on Railway Terrace just a stones throw from the Milton train station.

Bunker uses locally roasted beans from Blackstar Coffee in West End Brisbane so my expectations for a really good strong coffee we’re already peaked before I even walked into Bunker. Upon arriving I was greeted by very friendly staff who were quite happy to have a chat. My first coffee was a double shot latte and I was stunned at how different it tasted compared to the Blackstar I had tasted many times before at the Blackstar Roasting cafe in West End. It had the signature “kick you in the face” Blackstar strength but with a real smoothed out edge to it that made for what I consider to be an amazing coffee. For a hole in the wall style cafe like Bunker to go from a weekend operation at the Kelvin Grove Markets to a cafe with coffee of this consistency and quality is a major accomplishment and the coffee is so good it ranks in my opinion as one of the best coffees in Brisbane.


Bunker is located in what used to be the garage for a house at 21 Railway Terrace in Milton. The atmosphere is very “Bunker” like with the vines growing on the outside and inside walls making for a unique place to have a coffee. All though Bunker has only been opened for a month or so now it is quickly becoming a hot spot for coffee in the Milton area which until now was seriously lacking a decent specialty coffee shop. Bunker is a great addition to the Brisbane coffee scene and has already become the talk of the town.

I’ve decided to make use of my new Samsung Galaxy S that shoots 720p hd video and have used this review to be my first video in one of my reviews so here is a look at a double shot latte being poured at Bunker.

Have you been to Bunker Specialty Coffee & Chocolate? Join in on the discussion here:

[ Bunker Specialty Coffee & Chocolate discussion thread ]

Bunker Coffee
location: 21 Railway Terrace, Milton Qld.
Hours: Mon – Fri, 6:30am – 2:00pm
Online: http://www.bunkercoffee.com.au
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bunkercoffee
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/profile.php?id=100001352539166&ref=ts

About petergraham

Hi there .. my name is Peter Graham, welcome to my official blog. I am 34 years old. I am originally from Windsor Ontario Canada. for the pa

Posted on August 27, 2010, in Cafe Review. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey Peter,

    Thanks for the great review. Just an update that we are now open Mon Fri 6:30-15:30.

    Catch ya soon.

    Marcus

  1. Pingback: Ashes fan’s guide to Brisbane | News Team

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

