Blackboard Specialty Coffee – Varsity Lakes

Ok so Varsity Lakes isn’t in Brisbane and I know that this blog is called “BNE Coffee” as in “Brisbane Coffee” but I had to make an exception for this new cafe in Varsity Lakes on the Gold Coast. Blackboard is owned by Nick Pearce and while I did not get the chance to meet him today I was assured by others in the coffee industry that he is an all around good guy. Not to mention his staff were very well trained, very friendly and very passionate about coffee.

 

I may be corrected on this but the Gold Coast isn’t well known for its specialty coffee shops so when word started spreading about Blackboard a few months back I was very keen to check them out. Blackboard uses locally roasted beans from what I consider to be one of Brisbane’s most respected boutique coffee roasters “Cup Specialty Coffee” making the quality of the coffee at Blackboard exceptional. Like any self respecting specialty coffee house they run two roburs (grinders) to give you a choice of their house blend or a single origin. I had my standard double ristretto latte followed by a long black and both we’re well executed. The food was just as good as the coffee. I had a chicken and rocket toasted sandwich which was really good.

What I found very cool about Blackboard was the vibe. You felt more like you were in Melbourne then on the Gold Coast. I am not sure if this was intentional in the design of the cafe or not but it works. Blackboard has a very modern Melbourne type vibe. So much so that you’d almost expect to step out into a narrow lane way rather then a Gold Coast street as you leave.

 

This cafe will most certainly put Varsity Lakes and the Gold Coast on the map for specialty coffee lovers. I highly recommend you stop in next time your on the Gold Coast. I’ll post more pics soon!

Have you been to Blackboard Specialty Coffee? Join in on the discussion and tell us what you think. Click on the link below.

Discussion:
[ Blackboard Specialty Coffee discussion thread ]

Website:
http://www.BLACKBOARDCOFFEE.com
Location:

Varsity Lakes, Australia, 4227

Mon:
12:00 am – 4:00 pm
Tues – Fri:
7:00 am – 4:00 pm
Sat – Sun:
8:00 am – 4:00 pm 

Blackboard on facebook 

Blackboard on twitter

 

About petergraham

Hi there .. my name is Peter Graham, welcome to my official blog. I am 34 years old. I am originally from Windsor Ontario Canada. for the pa

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Cafe Review. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Congrats to Nick and his crew – looks awesome

  2. Great article and yeah I just can agree. Brilliant coffee, lovely food and great atmosphere. It is more than worth it to go there.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Blackboard Specialty Coffee – Varsity Lakes « BNE COFFEE -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

